Posted by: Through the Eyes of Women | July 19, 2015

July 20, 2015 Host Corinne Frugoni Interviews Children’s Author And Illustrator Jenny Sue Kostecki-Shaw

jennysue_bio“When I was little, I would sit in a box and draw pictures. Eventually, my studio expanded to my closet where I made up characters and neatly archived them in blue binders (including hundreds of made-up Smurfs). I would sit on the green shag carpet under hanging clothes with my older sister Renee sitting in her office on the far other end of the long, skinny closet. She wrote poems and said I could be her illustrator… I decided then that I’d always be an artist. When I was 8, I won my first art contest with a drawing of Santa Claus. I still remember the phone call—it was the first time I ever remember crying because I was happy…I find a lot of inspiration for my art and stories from my life: traveling+adventures, family+friends, my dog, other pets, and memories.”

Jenny Sue Kostecki-Shaw, quoted above, is the author/illustrator of the picture books, 71a1xlo2czL._UX250_Same, Same but Different (2011), and My Travelin’ Eye (2008), published by Christy Ottaviano Books/Henry Holt. She lives with her family at their mountain homestead in New Mexico.

Her most recent bo61-ctfYCYZL._UX160_ok  Luna and Me, The True Story of a Girl Who Lived in a Tree to Save a Forest (2015) also published by Henry Holt/Ottaviano is about the actual experience of forest activist Julia Butterfly Hill, a young adult whose tree-sit took place from December 1997 to December 1999 in Humboldt County.   Kostecki-Shaw reimagines it as the tale of a young girl and a tree with bright eyes and loving arms. Aided by friends who provide supplies and support that allow Julia to live 180 feet high on an 8 X 8 foot platform, Butterfly braves fierce storms, intimidation by loggers and her own loneliness and fear. Despite these challenges, Julia remained in the tree for 738 days coming down only when Luna and the surrounding grove were guaranteed protection from logging. Jennie writes and illustrates a beautiful and uplifting book that brings Julia Butterfly’s courageous story to children.  This book encourages children to follow their passion.

jkosteckiredwoods1Luna still stands, protected by Sanctuary Forest, a nonprofit organization located in Southern Humboldt that focuses on land and water restoration and conservation.

To listen to and/or download this segment click the following link:7-20-2015 Corinne Jenny Kostecki-Shaw Final

Leave a Reply

Categories

